Board of Trustees

J. Landis (Lanny) Martin, Chairman, Denver Art Museum Board of Trustees

A museum board member since 1994, J. Landis (Lanny) Martin has served on the museum’s Executive Committee and was chairman of the Finance Committee from 1996 to 2013. From 2011 to 2013, Martin served as the Co-Chair of the Board alongside Frederic C. Hamilton and was elected as Chairman of the Board in 2013. Throughout the years, Martin has been instrumental in guiding the museum’s vision including the completion of the Hamilton Building, and support for major programs and exhibitions. In honor of his contributions, one of the museum’s primary exhibition galleries is named in honor of Lanny and Sharon Martin, as is the plaza, which connects the museum to the adjacent neighborhood.

Beyond his role at the DAM, Martin is also chairman of the Clyfford Still Museum Foundation, Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Northwestern University and is actively involved with the Central City Opera as Chairman Emeritus. Martin founded Platte River Equity in 2005 after serving more than 18 years in senior management positions with publicly-held industrial, chemical, and metals companies.

From 1989 until his retirement in 2005, Martin was Chairman and CEO of Titanium Metals Corporation. Under Martin’s leadership, TIMET’s equity value increased from $20 million to more than $3.5 billion. Martin is a founding director and Chairman of the Board of Crown Castle International Corp., a leading independent owner, and operator of wireless communication sites. Martin is a lead director of Intrepid Potash, Inc. and the Apartment Investment Management Company, the largest owner, operator, and manager of apartments in the United States. Martin is an avid art collector including a major collection of mid-20th-century works, as well as the art of the American West. He and his wife, Sharon, have three children, Mary Lester, Sarah Stettner, and Emily Jones.


  • J Landis Martin, Chairman
  • Sarah Anschutz Hunt, Vice Chair
  • Craig Ponzio, Vice Chair
  • Wayne W Murdy, Treasurer
  • Robert S Rich, Secretary


  • Dr. Patricia Baca
  • Jana Bartlit
  • Nancy Lake Benson
  • David Birnbaum
  • Mario M Carrera
  • Merle Chambers
  • David J Corkins
  • Pat Cortez
  • Joy Dinsdale
  • Michael Duncan
  • Suzanne Farver
  • Cathey Finlon
  • Baryn Futa
  • Charles P Gallagher
  • Arlene Hirschfeld
  • James Holmes
  • Mariner Kemper
  • Nancy Leprino Henry
  • Kent A Logan
  • Lee McIntire
  • Trygve Myhren
  • Robert Newman
  • Kathryn Paul
  • William Pauls
  • Thomas Petrie
  • Craig Ponzio
  • Amanda J Precourt
  • Scott J Reiman
  • Richard Robinson
  • John Sie
  • Emily Sturm
  • James F Williams, II

Honorary Trustee

  • The Honorable John W Hickenlooper, Former Governor, State of Colorado

Volunteer Representative

  • Frieda Levine