Press releases

Expanded Holiday Hours Available for Passport to Paris On View Through February 9

Museum hosts Picture Yourself In Paris contest for the holidays

The Denver Art Museum (DAM) offers expanded hours for Passport to Paris on Thursdays and throughout the holiday season.  DAM members also have the special opportunity to view the exhibition during select Monday afternoons in December and January. See below for the schedule of additional hours or visit www.ParisInDenver.com for time slots and ticket availability.

The museum is hosting a photo contest which invites visitors to Picture Yourself In Paris. Participants can look for the almost seven foot wide pop-up Monet at locations around town, including Winter Park Resort, Tattered Cover Book Store and Cherry Creek north, snap a photo of themselves in front of the painting and enter online for a chance to win prize packages, including roundtrip airfare for two to Paris. For additional contest details visit www.ParisInDenver.com/contest.

Date Passport to Paris Expanded Hours

Friday, November 29 — 10 a.m.–10 p.m.

Saturday, November 30 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m.

Sunday, December 1 — 10 a.m.–5 p.m.

Monday, December 2 — Open for DAM members 2–9 p.m.

Thursday, December 5 — 10 a.m.–3 p.m.

Thursday, December 12 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Monday, December 16 — Open for DAM members 2–9 p.m.

Thursday, December 19 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 25 — Museum closed

Thursday, December 26 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m.

Friday, December 27 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m. 

Saturday, December 28 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m.

Sunday, December 29 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m. 

Wednesday, January 1 — 10 a.m.–5 p.m.

Thursday, January 2 — 10 a.m.–8 p.m.

Friday, January 3 —  10 a.m.–8 p.m.

Thursday, January 9 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Thursday, January 16 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Monday, January 20 — Open for DAM members 2–9 p.m.

Thursday, January 23 — 10 a.m. –7 p.m.

Thursday, January 30 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Thursday, February 6 — 10 a.m.–7 p.m.

Friday, February 7 — 10 a.m. –10 p.m.

Saturday, February 8 — 10 a.m. –10 p.m.

Sunday, February 9 — 10 a.m. –10 p.m.

The museum encourages everyone to plan ahead and purchase tickets in advance. Timed and dated tickets are available on-site, online at www.ParisInDenver.com or over the phone by calling 720-913-0130. There is a fee for booking over the phone. A ticket to Passport to Paris includes admission to the museum and the interactive, hands-on Drawing Studio. During extended hours, the entire Hamilton Building will remain open for visitors to enjoy. However, the North Building will close at the regularly scheduled time. Palettes, the Kevin Taylor restaurant at the DAM, is also planning special hours for the rest exhibition’s run. Visit www.OpenTable.com or call 303-534-1455 for reservations.

About the Exhibition

Passport to Paris is a suite of three French-themed exhibitions on view at the Denver Art Museum (DAM) October 27, 2013–February 9, 2014. The trio of shows will focus on French art from the late 1600s to early 1900s, and explore changes in art and society during three important centuries in art history. Revealing how art mirrors society, guests will get a sense of the changes that took place from the time of the powerful and absolute monarchy of Louis XIV to the individualistic café society. The museum will offer a full suite of supporting activities that highlights France and the French aesthetic. Additionally, a partnership with Colorado Symphony will allow both institutions to provide immersive and interactive experiences to their audiences.

Included in a ticket to Passport to Paris are:

  • Court to Café: Three Centuries of French Masterworks from the Wadsworth Atheneum
  • Nature as Muse: Impressionist Landscapes from the Frederic C. Hamilton Collection and the Denver Art Museum
  • Drawing Room: An Intimate Look at French Drawings from the Esmond Bradley Martin Collection

 

Media Resources

Download PDF of press release.